30 Day Challenge: Day 1

My friend and fourth cousin, Krystal, is a Team Beachbody coach and invited me to participate in a challenge she’s doing with some other ladies. I’ve been wanting to give Shakeology a try and this seemed like a great opportunity to do so.

 

Why the challenge?

I lost all of my baby weight while I was breastfeeding, but after I stopped, ten of those pounds slowly and steadily crept back on. I’m well aware that I can afford those 10 pounds and I probably get some eye rolls when I talk about wanting to lose a few pounds, like I’m Regina George or something. But seriously: I’m just not happy about it. If I were honest, what I’m really not happy about is how inactive I am– especially in the winter. I made a big deal about doing Insanity in January and February, and although I did a few times, it wasn’t a consistent thing. There’s something about doing a 30 Day Challenge that appeals to me though. I think it’s biggest appeal is that it’s a finite number of days. It has a start and an end. What happens at the end? Well, hopefully the weather is warmer and I can start training for my multiple 5k’s I’ve already signed up for. In any case– I can do anything for 30 days. If I just decide to make a weekly routine, which is the approach I’ve been taking for a while, it doesn’t seem to work as nicely. I feel like I can talk myself out of exercising a lot easier that way. “There’s always next week…”  I give myself too many outs. With a challenge, and a support group that I am supposed to “report” to, I’m more apt to care.

Plus, it has the added bonus of being a challenge. I found myself really looking forward to it. Having specific goals is always a good motivator, but having a time frame and plan of attack helps. So Krystal invited me to the challenge– it’s simple: you need to replace one meal a day with Shakeology and to workout 4-5 times a week. From there, I determined the best days (and times of day) for working out with my schedule, and the best meals to replace on a given day. Most days will be breakfast, but there are a few that will be dinner shakes! My plan is a semi-flexible schedule that fits in two rest/cheat days.

 

Progress

I’m hoping that by the end of this challenge, I’ll be on my way to where I want to be.  Today was Day 1 and the weather is actually warm, so I had planned to go for a run. Well, my son picked up a nice contagious illness that was going around his school, so my morning to myself disintegrated. I did T25 cardio instead, and I’ve just been staring longingly out the windows all day. There’s snow coming tomorrow… but I know that Spring is coming. Today helped remind me of that. FOCUS T25 is kind of awesome, and I especially love that it’s only 25 minutes. How can you talk yourself out of it? Everyone has 25 minutes.

I took some “Day 1” pictures this morning, and while I don’t think they’re horrible, I’m not brave enough to share them. Here’s to hoping my Day 30 picture will go alongside and will be an improvement worthy of throwing up on the blog. 🙂 Ha!

 

Until next time, aloha!

Tagged

Leave a Reply

Something Turquoise

Celebrating the DIY bride

Tim's Running Reviews

It will change your life.

Fab Fit Moms

5 Moms on a Mission to Get Fit!

#staymarried

Hope, stories, and resources for couples who want to stay married

