End of 2013 Progress Report / Plans for 2014.

My last post was in July. I have been incredibly busy since then trying to figure out being a full-time working mama. It has been difficult and has left little room for things like blogging on my own blog and reading for pleasure and grocery shopping on Tuesday mornings (I sorely miss being able to do that last thing!).

So here’s a quick recap of how I finished out the last quarter of the year:

August

I ran the Electric Run (which I’m sad I didn’t get to blog about– if you’re curious, let me know. I don’t think I’ll be doing that race again.)

Ran a total of 22 miles.

photo 1 photo 2

 

September

Started a running Growth Group with my friend Katie. This forced me to run on Tuesdays, which is the only days I ran in September as the start of school is really, really taxing.

Ran a total of 8 miles. (Hooray for those Tuesdays!)

October

Continued with the Growth Group. Got used to running in the dark! Katie’s got a nifty head lamp thing and knows how to make a lantern out of a water jug.

Ran a total of 8 miles.

November

Ran my first 10k! It was the Veteran’s Day 10k which benefits the Wounded Warrior Project. It was cold, it was WINDY, and I walked a lot more than I would’ve liked. But I finished!

Ran a total of 12 miles.

photo 4

December

Did not run one mile in December. Not one. Too cold and too busy.

My goal for the year 2013 was to run 365 miles. I ended up running about 180- slightly under half of my goal. Do I consider this a failure? Abso-freakin-lutely not. My goal, really, was to run more. I wanted to set a measurable goal that would give me a reason to tie up my pink shoelaces and get out there.

At that, I was successful. I also ran my first 10k, which was not in the original plan.

SO, for 2014, here are my more measurable running goals: I want to run two 10k races and at least three 5k races. (one Spring, one Summer, one Fall). Once my friend (and unofficial personal running coach) Katie pops out baby #2, we’ll plan my first half marathon as well.

I’m already signed up for the Color Run again this year, so that takes care of my Spring 5k, but I’m open to doing MORE than my goal this year.

{I have to make up for my slack from 2013 some way!}

Here’s to continuing the drive to be a #FitMom in 2014.

One thought on “End of 2013 Progress Report / Plans for 2014.

  1. Laura says:

    I think you did a ton of miles in 2013 – and built a strong base for 2014! Good luck on all of your goals this year and Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

Something Turquoise

Celebrating the DIY bride

Tim's Running Reviews

It will change your life.

Fab Fit Moms

5 Moms on a Mission to Get Fit!

#staymarried

Hope, stories, and resources for couples who want to stay married

