Progress Update: May

May started out great. My goal was to simply be on par for the month: 31 miles in 31 days. I wasn’t too concerned with getting ahead just yet. It was simply important to not be behind for yet another month.

 

That lasted for most of the month. I was ahead or right on track up until the Color Run. I ran the Color Run (review coming soon- it was awesome!) on the 25th and the last run I clocked for the month was the next day, the 26th. Then I fell off the metaphorical wagon.

 

I have no excuses. I could blame my husband for being extraordinarily busy and away from home for the last week of the month, but I know there was at least one afternoon in which I had an hour to myself and could have gotten a short 2-miles in. (BUT, this day happened to be my and Jonah’s anniversary, and I had worn a dress to work. I was having an exceptionally good hair day– which is rare– why would I screw that up with getting sweaty and having to shower again?)

 

I’ve worked a lot in the past two weeks, too, because the school year is coming to a close, and with the end of a school year comes the end of sub jobs for the summer. These are just excuses, though, and really, I just got into a spiral of laziness that often seems to accompany running a race. I’ll take the next week “off.” I tried to counteract this with a run the very next day, but it didn’t help much. I still took the last week of the month off.

 

So my total for May was 22.25 miles. That’s 8.75 miles less than what would’ve kept me on track for the month. Not terrible, but not great, since I’m already so far behind for the year.

 

As if this wasn’t bad enough, the first week of June has been cold and rainy and a huge motivation killer. I have a plan to get back on track for the month. I just need the weather to cooperate.

 

I’m just waiting for it to feel like summer. I’ve never been more motivated to live somewhere other than Wisconsin than I have been this “Spring.” We’re lucky around here if we get a full three months of summer. I’m so done with this weather.

 

I am not done with running, though. So here’s to a good June– I’m behind, but I’m not out of the game just yet.

 

2013 Miles Goal: 365

Miles Run So Far: 83

Miles to Go: 280

Leave a Reply

Something Turquoise

Celebrating the DIY bride

Tim's Running Reviews

It will change your life.

Fab Fit Moms

5 Moms on a Mission to Get Fit!

#staymarried

Hope, stories, and resources for couples who want to stay married

