Weather Setbacks

Well, we had a few nice days at the end of March and beginning of April. I was running outside! I was on track for miles for the month! It was glorious!

 

Then… THIS happened.

weatherapril

{TMJ4 Storm Team iContribute Photo Gallery}

 

I know, I know. “April showers bring May flowers.” Screw that, though. It’s not just rainy. It’s rainy, windy, and COLD. Spring in Wisconsin isn’t that beautiful, unless you’re talking the last few days/weeks of May and first few weeks of June. But barely a month of spring-type weather qualifies as Spring. They like to joke that the four seasons in Wisconsin are: almost winter, winter, still winter, and road construction.

 

We’re in “still winter.” As such, I lost the great start I had at the beginning of the month. If I weren’t such a baby, I’d run in the cold rain. I’m not that hardcore. I’d like to be, one day, but for now: I made a little bit of time to go run on the treadmill this week. It’s the much less convenient alternative, because I have to do it over Skip’s nap and I worked almost every day this week. So I was only able to run the one day I had off.

 

I’m behind for the month. I’m behind for the year, really, but I’m just focusing on months at a time.

{It’s a little less motivation-killing to do it that way.}

 

This just further solidifies the fact that we need to live somewhere that I can run outside year-round. This treadmill business is getting old, fast. It was fine for the beginning of the C25K program, because it varied and kept me interested, but just running for 25 minutes on the treadmill? Yeah, that sucks. Even if you are watching TV. The bouncing doesn’t help.

 

In any case, I’m still optimistic that the summer will yield better mileage for me. I find myself in the same kind of anticipation for summer that I experienced as a kid. Maybe it’s because I’m subbing, so I’m in the same environment I was as a kid, but I’ve HAD. IT. with this rain and cold. I’ve checked out of the present. I’m nostalgically longing for warmth, sunshine, and the ability to open my windows.

 

As I’m typing this, I glanced up and there are snow flurries fluttering around outside. Why do I live here?!

 

I just want to run.

——

Also:I would feel it remiss to not mention how much the city of Boston and the runners, spectators, and citizens there are in my heart and on my mind. I don’t have anything to say that hasn’t already been said, nor do I feel that I have any sort of adequate words to utter in response. I found Patton Oswalt’s and Stephen Colbert’s to be two of the more succinct and resonating responses. As someone who is slowly working her way up to running longer distances, I know that the chance of ever qualifying to run the Boston Marathon is far off and perhaps unreachable for me. It hasn’t stopped me from putting it on my Bucket List of Runs. My heart aches for those there for the first time. For those there for the last time. For those there to cheer on their loved ones. For those there that took years to qualify. Just to have their moment of accomplishment taken from them. It’s awful.

 

I texted my husband on Monday when I heard the news and asked, “What kind of world do we live in?!” That statement was one of disgust at the ugly and hate that exists, but in the aftermath, I know that the ugly and hateful are small in number, though their actions may have monumental consequences. The beautiful and kind and supportive are larger in number, as we’ve seen over the past week, and I’m grateful to live in a country that will be at odds with each other over an elected official but will come together when it matters.


Every step I run towards my goal this year will be a prayer for Boston and for the future, moving forward.

Runners-united-to-remember-bib-for-Boston

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “Weather Setbacks

  1. […] 365 miles is 1 mile per day, so I was good for the month so far!) Well, then we were hit with two weeks of cold and rain, and suddenly, I was running just once per week. Losing about 5 miles per week kills motivation […]

Leave a Reply

Something Turquoise

Celebrating the DIY bride

Tim's Running Reviews

It will change your life.

Fab Fit Moms

5 Moms on a Mission to Get Fit!

#staymarried

Hope, stories, and resources for couples who want to stay married

