Sneaky Zucchini – Part 2: Brownies & Cheesy Rice

For Part 2 of Sneaky Zucchini Week, I thought I’d share two other recipes that I love involving sneaking some zucchini.

 

I won’t be giving a step-by-step for either of these, since they are not from my family recipe book. I found these two recipes on Pinterest, and their original sources give pretty thorough step-by-step instructions. I’m not interested in reinventing the wheel, here. Not my style.

 

First Up: Zucchini Brownies

 

photo (2)

 

The first time I made these, I did so for the purpose of being sneaky. I saw a pin on Pinterest for this recipe from The Yummy Life, and I couldn’t believe that you could put zucchini in brownies without noticing. So I put it to a test. I signed up to bring the dessert one night for our bi-weekly Sunday Night Dinner that we do with friends, and I made these zucchini brownies. They had pretty rave reviews and repins on Pinterest, so I figured, why not?

 

I even made the homemade chocolate frosting to put on top.

 

I showed up to Sunday Night Dinner and didn’t say a word until almost everyone had tried one. No one said anything about them tasting funny, although, they could’ve just been trying to be polite. When I told everyone, I got a general, “Oh. Really?” reaction from everyone. I was pleased.

 

The verdict: delicious. You should try both recipes. The homemade chocolate frosting is so easy– why would you ever buy that store brand stuff with all the additives?

Next: Cheesy Zucchini Rice

 

 

The picture from the pin for this recipe from Buns in My Oven immediately got my attention. It just looked so yummy. I saw this recipe shortly after my success with the zucchini brownies, and was delighted to sneak some veggies into another dish. This makes a fantastic side dish. I’ve made it to go alongside steaks, chicken, pork chops, fish… and every time, it works!

 

The verdict: yummy. BUT I still haven’t figured out how to make this dish using brown rice. Husband and I prefer brown rice to white… and so far, every time I’ve tried to make this recipe with brown rice, it has turned out crunchy and the rice doesn’t absorb as much of the liquid. I think I just need to alter some cook times or something… when I’ve figured it out, I’ll let you know. In any case, I recommend it! Even when it was crunchy, the flavors were still good.

 

So there you have it– two more Sneaky Zucchini recipes that are Katie-approved. I am an authority on these things, of course. {Not really.} Next week, it’s back to blogging about running. Until then… I’d love to know if you have any recipes using zucchini. I’m always looking for more ways to add vegetables to our menu. Let me know!

Also: make sure and check out The Yummy Life and Buns in My Oven. Both sites have tons of delicious-looking recipes, many of which do not include zucchini. 😉

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

Something Turquoise

Celebrating the DIY bride

Tim's Running Reviews

It will change your life.

Fab Fit Moms

5 Moms on a Mission to Get Fit!

#staymarried

Hope, stories, and resources for couples who want to stay married

