Progress Update: January & February


The goal I had set for myself seemed so easy. 365 miles is just a mile a day (or “about 10 miles per week” if you’re my husband. Yes, he did consider majoring in math. Go easy on him, though, he reserves his brain power for other, more brilliant things…) and I thought that should be simple enough. I shouldn’t have to run every day, because on the days that I do run, I average at least two miles.

Well, I underestimated just how cold winter is in Wisconsin. Let me tell you, it sucks to run outdoors in the cold and snow and wind. I bought some fancy Yaktrax (for a STEAL on Amazon!) but that didn’t motivate me, either. I had visions of slipping on ice and cracking my skull or breaking my legs.
Thankfully, I had access to a treadmill. My parents have one set up in their room, so during Skip’s naptime, I could run.

The only problem with that is Skip’s nap times tend to be the only time I can really get things done. It’s a precious two-hour window that I feel an insane pressure to squeeze in all of the things I need to do. Running and showering can take up a pretty decent chunk of that time. I know it’s important, but that pressure makes it difficult to stay motivated.

 

January

January was pretty decent. I ran the Warm Your Heart indoor 5k in Chicago at the beginning of the month, so that gave me some mileage. I’ll review and talk about that 5k more in a later blog, but the truth is, I didn’t do so well. Before that point, it had been quite a while since the last time I had run. I was not proud of the way I struggled through that 5k, so I was motivated to do better for my next one.
I was able to get in 18 miles in January on the treadmill. I found that watching episodes of Friends made it go by faster, because running on the treadmill kinda sucks. It turns out that 2 miles is about an episode and a half.

Still, there are 31 days in January and I only ran 18. So that left me 13 miles behind. This seemed easy enough to pick up again when it’s warmer out and I’m running more often.

Well, enter February.

 

February

February is a short month, and it was FULL of activity. If you look at my subbing schedule, it shows that I was only able to sub FOUR days out of the whole month! We moved into our new condo, went to Hawaii, I started an online course for TESOL, and Jonah started his new full-time job. A lot happened. With my online course, suddenly naptime became even more precious. Also, I now lived away from the treadmill, and it’s still too frigid and snowy and icy to run outside. (At least according to me. That’s probably something I’ll need to get over as long as I live here.)

I had lofty goals for running while we were in Hawaii. After all, it is my favorite place to run. Unfortunately, given that we were there for such a short amount of time (the shortest we had been before that was five weeks… so a week felt like torture to us!) and with how busy we were with the wedding stuff and trying to fit in everything we wanted to do, I only ran once. My lucky husband was able to squeeze in two runs.

I’m embarrassed to share my run total for February, but in the spirit of being transparent in order to keep myself motivated, here it is: 5.25
Yes, just over FIVE miles. For 28 days in the month, I am 22.75 miles behind for the month and 35.75 miles behind for the year.

YIKES.

 

Moving Forward

I’m trying not to dwell on that number and just focus on running more this month. Thankfully, I have a few friends who are training for races and we decided to train together. We won’t run together every time, but we will be following the same schedule and hopefully fit in a few runs together. I am much more likely to keep accountable to other people than I am to myself, so I’m glad we’re doing this together.

It’s now March, and it’s a new start. I’m still pretty sure I can recoup those miles I am behind. Stick around and find out!

 

2013 Miles Goal: 365
Miles Run So Far: 23.25
Miles to Go: 341.75

Tagged ,

One thought on “Progress Update: January & February

  1. […] was a lot better than January and February for running. I could thank myself for making me accountable to the interwebs via starting this […]

Leave a Reply

Something Turquoise

Celebrating the DIY bride

Tim's Running Reviews

It will change your life.

Fab Fit Moms

5 Moms on a Mission to Get Fit!

#staymarried

Hope, stories, and resources for couples who want to stay married

