So I started a running blog…

I’m a girl with a goal.

My name is Katie and there are two things I want to do more of: running and writing. I set a running goal for myself for this year, and at some point, it just seemed right for me to also write about it. I wish I could explain it better than that, but at this point, I can’t. I just feel compelled to start a running blog, and really, let’s be honest, there aren’t enough blogs out there.

{That was sarcasm.}

I’m also kind of struggling with my running goal for this year, so I’m hoping starting a running blog will help with some of that.

I’m Not A Runner… Yet
I have been running for almost two years, and I still wouldn’t consider myself a “runner.” Runners are those people who know what they’re talking about when they talk about running, think it’s “cute” that I’ve run a few 5ks, and belong to communities of other runners– whether it be a Run Club or online Runners’ Gossip Clique… I don’t really know, because I’m not a runner.

Maybe I’m a running enthusiast, or at the very least, I’m a “novice,” but I won’t call myself a “runner” yet, because if I were to do so now, I’d feel like a big, fat poser.

How I Got Started
Growing up, I didn’t enjoy running. When we ran “the mile” in gym class, I walked and was usually one of the last few to finish. I’d sprint maybe 10 feet every lap or so, but that was torture. I played soccer in High School but preferred defense because it required less running. When they’d put me in mid-field (which requires the most running), I’d be gasping for breath nearly two minutes into being put in the game, and I’d usually ask for a sub within ten minutes and collapse on the bench like I had severe asthma or something.

Yeah, I hated running.

I’d always admired runners, though. It seemed like such easy exercise! You don’t have to pay for a gym membership. You just… run. Even though I hated running and wasn’t very “good” at it, I kind of wanted to be a runner anyway.

I was never motivated to start, though, until I was almost ten months pregnant.
There I was: two weeks overdue, up 65 pounds, living in Hawaii (where people are ACTIVE: surfing, paddleboarding, running, walking, biking, hiking, etc. at all hours of the day), and I was swollen to the size of a blimp. I hated looking at myself in the mirror. I couldn’t remember the last time I had felt pretty. There was a moment when I was looking at my ankles (or, rather, the fat lump where my ankles were supposed to be) and suddenly I was bound and determined to do something about it. Motivation kind of slapped me in the face.
I had heard about the couch-to-5k program, which sounded exactly like me, because after all, I had been spending quite a lot of time on the couch eating chocolate-covered macadamia nuts in the last month or so of pregnancy. I figured if anything was going to work for me, this program would.

I wasn’t able to start the program immediately after giving birth (my son had some pretty serious health issues) but in order to motivate myself, I signed up for a 5k in August. At the time it was April, and I figured that I’d be able to complete the nine week Couch to 5k program in between that time. I just barely finished the program before my very first 5k, but I ran the entire thing in about 38 minutes… and I mean it, I ran! I couldn’t believe it.

Couch to 5k
I highly recommend the Couch to 5k for anyone who was like me: terrible with endurance and never ran for more than 30 seconds before. That’s where I started. The first week, you don’t run more than 60 second stretches at a time, and this was absolute torture… but eventually, I was running for three minutes at a time, and then five minutes, and then eight… until I was running for a full half hour! It probably helped that I began my running gig in Hawaii. There’s nothing better than an evening run in a tropical climate, with mountain views and fellow runners out and about. I’ll share more about running in Hawaii on this blog, I promise.

Completing the Couch to 5k program and running an actual 5k was probably the very first time in my life that I had set a fitness goal and actually kept it. I finally found something that I wouldn’t give up on. I have always aimed to be more active and live a healthier lifestyle, but rarely have I taken actual, concrete steps to doing so. I was so motivated to lose the baby weight that I actually did it, and once you meet such a big goal, you just want to keep doing it!

Which Brings me to Now
My goal now is to be a healthy and fit mama. I’ve learned that the best motivation is to have no excuses– which is why I’ve made attainable goals. First: to run 365 miles this year. I was inspired by my friend Kevin, who set a similar goal last year (500 miles, though!) and made it with weeks to spare! {See his story briefly told here.} My motivator to run those 365 miles is to run a few 5ks throughout the year– this will keep me running in between, for training purposes, and to have some fun experiences throughout the year, because running a 5k is a LOT of fun!
Second: my goal is to eat healthier. I’ve been learning a lot about how my body digests food, my tastes have been growing as I’ve tried different things, and above all, I’ve noticed how much more energy I have when I eat healthier, how much better I feel about myself, and really, I want to teach my son healthy habits from a young age.

So this blog will be my space for keeping accountable to my goals and updating on my progress, as well as posting our successes and failures with eating healthy (maybe share some recipes we love!) and to share whatever else is relevant to this place in my life. I am a writer, so it just makes sense to write about all of this. It’s almost a necessity to have a blog to accompany my goals.

I hope you’ll stay tuned.

Mango Days 5k . 2012

Mango Days 5k . 2012

Tagged , , ,

7 thoughts on “So I started a running blog…

  1. You’re TOTALLY a runner! 🙂

  2. Bethany says:

    I am doing my very first 5k at the end of this month and I am SO EXCITED!
    I don’t think I’ll ever be doing marathons, but I KNOW I can do this!
    Congrats on the new blog and the new adventure!

  3. […] So I started a running blog… (onemileperday.wordpress.com) […]

  4. […] So I started a running blog… (onemileperday.wordpress.com) […]

  5. […] So I started a running blog… (onemileperday.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

Something Turquoise

Celebrating the DIY bride

Tim's Running Reviews

It will change your life.

Fab Fit Moms

5 Moms on a Mission to Get Fit!

#staymarried

Hope, stories, and resources for couples who want to stay married

